Puerto Vallarta Weather Report
Welcome to Puerto Vallarta's liveliest website!
Contact UsSearch
Why Vallarta?Vallarta WeddingsRestaurantsWeatherPhoto GalleriesToday's EventsMaps
Sign up NOW!

Free Newsletter!

News Around the Republic of Mexico 

Mexico Covid-19 Risk Traffic Light Map for July 6-12

July 06, 2020

The latest Covid-19 Risk Traffic Light Map shows seven states that were orange (high risk) last week, returning to the red (maximum risk) category this week, due to an increase in coronavirus infections.
As Mexico begins its second month of the 'new normality,' the number of coronavirus cases in the interior of the republic continue to grow. The latest Covid-19 Risk Traffic Light Map shows seven states that were orange last week returning to red this week due to an increase in infections.

The federal government considers four factors when determining the risk level and corresponding Traffic Light color for each state: case number trends (whether new infections are increasing, decreasing or stable), the number of people requiring hospitalizations, the percentage of hospital occupation, and the number of new positive cases resulting from the tests carried out in each of the states.

After a private meeting between governors and officials from the Secretary of the Interior (SEGOB) and other officials, Hugo López Gatell, Undersecretary for Health Promotion and Prevention, predicted that 17 states will be in the red (maximum risk) category, and 14 will be orange (high risk) within the week of July 6-12, detailing the trends from June 1st, the date the sanitary traffic light was implemented for the reactivation of activities.

The 7 states that, after having been in orange, have now returned to red are: Campeche, Chiapas, Coahuila, Guanajuato, Tamaulipas, Veracruz, and Yucatan.

Another 10 states in the red zone are not expected to change: Baja California, Colima, Estado de México, Nayarit, Nuevo León, Puebla, Sinaloa, Sonora, Tabasco and Tlaxcala.

Four states have improved, moving from the red to the orange level: Guerrero, Hidalgo, Morelos and Oaxaca.

The following 10 states are expected to remain in the orange category: Aguascalientes, Baja California Sur, Chihuahua, Durango, Jalisco, Michoacán, Querétaro, Quintana Roo, San Luis Potosí and Zacatecas.

Sources: Gobierno de MexicoYucatan Timesinfobae