76.9 F
Puerto Vallarta

Semi Pro Baseball in Puerto Vallarta

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico – After several months of all sports activities in Puerto Vallarta being put on hold due to the Covid-19 health contingency, last weekend, the 2020-2021 season of the Nayarita Winter Baseball League was inaugurated at the Agustin Flores Contreras municipal stadium.

Ten teams are participating in the baseball league, including the Club Delfines of this city.

The director of the Municipal Sports Council (Comude), Jose Amador Hernández Madrigal, thanked the winter league for giving Puerto Vallarta’s team the opportunity to participate in this event and bring semi-professional baseball back to this city.

He congratulated the board of directors that heads this project, and reiterated the municipal government’s commitment to join the different sports projects so that families can enjoy different events, all with the pertinent sanitary measures, in addition to continuing to work as a team so that Puerto Vallarta returns to the limelight in ‘the king of sports.’

Likewise, he asked attendees for their support and understanding to comply with all health protocols, since the pandemic is not over yet, so the participation of citizens in following the measures will be important, thereby ensuring that sports activities continue developing every day.

For his part, Osiris Humberto Garcia Lopez, president of the Puerto Vallarta Dolphin Club, thanked the Nayarita Winter League for inviting Puerto Vallarta to participate in this sporting event, being the only Jalisco team in the league, in addition to thanking the people, sponsors and friends who in some way continue to support sports in our city.

After the first pitch to officially inaugurate the league, the inaugural match between PV’s Club Delfines and the Jaibos de Sayulita was held. Also present were Martín Rodríguez Félix, secretary of the Puerto Vallarta Dolphin Club and Juan José Ríos Valdez, president of the Puerto Vallarta and Bahía de Banderas veterans’ baseball league.

Teams from Sayulita, Compostela, San Blas, Santiago Ixcuintla, Tecuala, Acaponeta, Tepic, Rosamorada, Tuxpan and Puerto Vallarta will participate in this league.

Puerto Vallarta Municipal Government press release translated and edited by Luis Antonio for BanderasNews.com.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

MXN - Mexican Peso